In order to work as a private investigator in Delaware, you need to possess a license issued by Delaware State Police. You must be of good moral character. You must undergo a thorough background check which scrutinizes your criminal history. If you are found guilty, you will not be eligible to obtain a license from Delaware State Police.
Your next step is to fill an application form requesting for a private investigator license. Along with this, you need to complete a Delaware manager application form. Both the application forms must be duly filled, signed and notarized. The application requires the applicant to provide his name and any applicable aliases, home address, phone number, location and date of birth and physical description. You must attach $5000 surety bond and $100000 insurance liability coverage document (for an individual) and $10000 surety bond and $100000 insurance liability coverage (for corporate) issued in your favor by a state certified insurance company.
A Private Investigator must not be a member or employee of any Law Enforcement Organization, as defined by the Council on Police Training. At the time of processing, if demanded, a private investigator must show evidence that he is employment by a licensed private investigative agency with the private investigator application signed by employer. The identification card will bear the employer’s name. This identification card is valid only when employment exists. But, if you are seeking employment with another licensed agency, the private investigator must be re-licensed with the new employer and a new identification card will be issued as in the previous procedure. One important restriction is that a licensed private investigator will be employed by one licensed private investigative agency at a time.
To be successful private investigator in Delaware you will have to be in company of private investigators in Delaware. Hence, join an experienced private investigator in Delaware. These private investigators will be a source for customers because many people contact them for investigative services and also beneficial for you as it will show your commitment towards your profession. Here are some tips that will be helpful to you in tough times of your business.
Do follow Delaware statutes in order to be a successful private investigator in Delaware. Always keep a thorough eye on the changes in laws, rules and regulations to carry out your work more effectively and hassle-free.
Please Note: - Delaware does not have reciprocity agreements with any other states.
Contact Information: Website: http://dsp.delaware.gov/SBIinfo.shtml
Delaware Department of Safety and Homeland Security, Division of State Police, P.O. Box 430, Dover, Delaware, United States, 19903-0430 Phone: (302) 672-5304
Citation Statute: Delaware State Law: Title 24: 1301-1316
Fees: In-State License Holder
Individual - No Employees - Not Corporation $230
Corporation - Has Employees $345
License Holder - Individual and Corporation $345
Delaware Manager $230
Renewal Information: Renewal for an Individual Investigator is $44.00 for two years. Renewal for an out of state agency is $575.00 for two years.