Sunday, April 24, 2011

How to become Private Investigator in Oregon?

Working as a private investigator in Oregon requires you a license issued by the Department of Public Safety. Oregon won’t allow you to work as a private investigator without a license. The basic requirement to become a private investigator in Oregon is that you must be at least 18 years of age. You should undergo at least 1,500 hours of investigation practical experience, completed a related course of study approved by the department, or have a combination of experience and education approved by the department. Even after you get your license, you must complete at least 32 hours of continuing education every two years.

You must then undergo a thorough background criminal check to finalize whether you are fit for private investigator license. You then have to get your fingerprints printed on two cards for verification purpose. You must have a security approved by department of at least $5000 such as a corporate surety bond or an irrevocable letter of credit issued by an insured institution.

You will have to clear the exam undertaken by Department of Public Safety. The minimum level to clear the exam is 86% or higher. This proficiency exam consists of 50 multiple choice and true/false questions. You will be provided the test, answer sheet, and copies of Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) and Oregon Administrative Rule (OAR) relevant to the exam. The exam covers applicable Oregon criminal statute that Private Investigators need to be aware of while conducting investigations. The exam also covers elements of ORS 703-401-703.995 and OAR 259-061. Call 503-378-8531 for appointment.

Then you will have to fill an application form (PS-1) requesting for a private investigator license. You must fill the form completely, duly signed; else; your application can be delayed. You must provide three personal references along with all history requested including the 10 year employment and residence history. Be sure not to leave any areas blank. Instead you can put NA (Not Applicable) where ever necessary. The form is available for download here.

Along with application, you will have to submit 3 Professional Letters of Reference; 2 Fingerprint Cards (along with form PS-4) with accompanying affidavit sealed in tamperproof bag; 1 electronic photograph taken within the last 6 months; bond or insurance of $5000 in protection and if applicable Corporation Division Information if doing business under a assumed name.

Also, include a copy of your resume documenting your education, work experience and training certified by your mentor. Do remember mentioning your 1,500 hours of experience. Pay $79 application fee, a $550 license fee and all other required materials to the Department of Public Safety Standards and Training.

Contact Information:
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training, 4190 Aumsville Hwy SE, Salem, Oregon, United States, 97317
Phone: 503-378-8531
Fax: 503-378-4600

Oregon Association of Licensed Investigators

Citation Statute:
Oregon Revised Statutes
Chapter 703

Please log on to this website for more and up to date information;

No comments:

Post a Comment